Explore as a

Share our content


Published 22 October 2020

Announcing ANZCART award winners

Britnee Southland

The New Zealand board of ANZCCART (the Australian and New Zealand Council for the Care of Animals in Research and Teaching), a committee of the Society, have awarded Britnee Southland the 2020 ANZCCART Animal Care Award. The ANZCCART Animal Ethics Committee Member Awards have gone to Ali Cullum and Professor Anthony Phillips.

The Animal Care Award

The Animal Care Award is made each year to recognise the significant contribution made by individual New Zealand-based technicians and research assistants, particularly in regard to the welfare of the animals.

Britnee Southland has won the Animal Care Award this year for her work promoting and protecting the welfare of dogs at Massey University’s canine unit.

ANZCCART Animal Ethics Committee Member awards

The ANZCCART Animal Ethics Committee Member Award recognises the excellent service offered to Animal Ethics Committees by their members throughout Australia and New Zealand. This year's winners are Ali Cullum and Professor Anthony Phillips.

Ali Cullum is a veterinarian and Animal Welfare Officer member of the AgResearch Ruakura Animal Ethics Committee. Ali helped start the Veterinary Animal Welfare Officer group under the NZVA (New Zealand Veterinary Association) umbrella in 2012, and has been a passionate advocate for gold standard health, husbandry and welfare solutions for animals used in research, testing and teaching.

IMG 2178

Professor Anthony Phillips is Chair of the University of Auckland Animal Ethics Committee (AEC). Anthony has been a long standing AEC committee member and involved in many projects around animal ethics, health and welfare at the University as well as encouraging the AEC to continually find ways to improve its processes and procedures.

59 Anthony PHILLIPS 2Oct13 v2

Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi