Explore as a

Share our content

CoREs Expert Selection Panels

Expert Selection Panels have been established to assess the range of applications to the 2019/20 CoREs funding round.

There are five discipline-based Expert Selection Panels, which make recommendations to the Advisory Committee.  These panels are composed of experts in their research fields of interest and who have a high level of expertise in the assessment of research quality and excellence.  


Biological and Health Sciences (BHS) Panel

Including biochemistry; biotechnology; microbiology; cellular & molecular biology; genetics; animal and plant sciences; human health and disease; immunology; epidemiology; physiology; neurobiology; biomechanics; medical devices; food science; nutrition.

Name Institution
Dr Ian Ferguson (Chair) Plant and Food Research
Professor David Lloyd      Griffith University
Professor Sally Merry University of Auckland
Dr Melissa McLeod University of Otago
Professor Suzanne Crowe  Burnet Institute


Ecology, Marine and Environmental Sciences (EME) Panel

Including geography; ecology; ecosystem health; biological control; oceanography; climate change; conservation; Māori and Pacific people’s environmental knowledge and natural resource management.

Name Institution
Emeritus Professor Roger McLean (Chair) University of New South Wales 
Professor Helen Ross University of Queensland
Professor James Shulmeister University of Canterbury
Professor Abigail Smith  University of Otago
Professor Mark Adams Swinburne University of Technology


Culture, Heritage and Language (CHL) Panel

Including Māori studies; Māori and Pacific people’s information and knowledge systems; languages; linguistics; performing arts; creative writing and studies of human society.

Name Institution
Professor Sally J Morgan (Chair) Massey University
Emeritus Professor Jon Altman Australian National University
Professor Michael Haugh University of Queensland
Associate Professor Alice Te Punga Somerville University of Waikato
Ms Puawai Cairns Te Papa Tongarewa


Social Sciences, Economics and Policy (SEP) Panel

Including political science; economics; digital humanities; cultural studies; public policy; mental health; sports science; bioethics; urban design; environmental engineering design; natural resource law; international relations and agribusiness.

Name Institution
Emeritus Professor Gary R Hawke (Chair) Victoria University of Wellington
Professor Robert Freestone University of New South Wales
Associate Professor Emma Sherry University of Swinburne
Professor Kambiz Maani  University of Massey
Associate Professor Amy Lynn Fletcher University of Canterbury
Dr Ruth DeSouza RMIT University
Dr Christopher Gyngall University of Melbourne


Physical Sciences, Engineering and Mathematics (PEM) Panel

Including materials science; chemistry; physics; optics; astronomy; computer science; information systems; artificial intelligence; computer-human interaction; robotics; civil and materials engineering; industrial design; and mathematics.

Name Institution
Emeritus Professor Janis Swan (Chair) University of Waikato
Professor Mark Apperley University of Waikato
Professor Sami Kara University of New South Wales
Professor Megan Lewis University of Adelaide
Professor Ken Freeman Australian National University
Emeritus Professor Hans Bachor Australian National University