Explore as a

Share our content

Panels and panellists

Definitions of funding round panels and details of panel members for Rutherford Discovery Fellowships.

Panel definitions and 2019 panellists

Three discipline-based panels are being established to aid the assessment of proposals. Panellists to be confirmed (TBC) will be updated when appointed.

2019 Humanities and the Social Sciences

Research related to the human condition or aspects of human society.

This includes: English; languages; history; religion; philosophy; law; classics; linguistics; literature; cultural studies; media studies; art history; film; economics; education; psychology (cognitive, social, developmental, organisational, community and health); cognitive science; linguistics; archaeology; anthropology; sociology; social, cultural and human geography; social anthropology; architecture, urban design and environmental studies; public health; nursing; public policy; marketing; political science; and business studies.


Professor Barbara Brookes University of Otago
Professor Susy Frankel Victoria University of Wellington 
Professor Nicola Gavey University of Auckland
Emeritus Professor Robert Hannah University of Waikato
Professor Denise Wilson Auckland University of Technology


2019 Life Sciences

Research related to understanding the activities that occur in cells and tissues and the interrelationships between organisms and their environment.

This includes: physiology (plant or animal), pathology (animal or plant), pharmacology, molecular biology, genetics, cell biology, microbiology; neurobiology and neuropsychology (including animals as a model species for humans); animal behaviour; population biology genetics; functional genomics and related bioinformatics; biostatistics and modelling; animal, plant and microbial ecology; biogeography; biodiversity; phylogenetics; systematics and evolution; biophysics, chemical biology; and biochemistry.


Professor Murray Cox Massey University
Professor Ruth Empson University of Otago
Dr Elspeth MacRae Scion
Dr Ian Sutherland AgResearch
Professor Stephen Wratten Lincoln University 


2019 Physical Sciences, Engineering and Mathematics

Research related to the physical world and mathematics.

This includes: physics; physical chemistry; organic chemistry; analytical chemistry; inorganic chemistry; pure and applied mathematics; statistics; logic, theoretical and engineering aspects of computer and information sciences; complexity theory; operations research; nanotechnology; software and hardware engineering; applications and robotics; materials science; engineering (including bioengineering and other cross-disciplinary research activities); geology; geophysics; physical geography; oceanography; hydrology; meteorology; atmospheric science; earth sciences; astronomy; and astrophysics.


Professor Richard Hartshorn University of Canterbury
Dr Sigrun Hreinsdottir GNS Science
Professor David Hutchinson University of Otago
Professor Stephen Marsland Victoria University of Wellington
Professor Suzanne Wilkinson University of Auckland 


2019 Interview panel

The President of the Royal Society Te Apārangi appoints the interview panel for the Rutherford Discovery Fellowships.  The interview panel has the responsibility of recommending Fellows and advising how the funding shall be allocated.


Professor Lisa Matisoo-Smith (Chair) University of Otago
Professor Vic Arcus University of Waikato
Associate Professor Nancy Bertler Victoria University of Wellington/GNS Science
Distinguished Professor Nigel French Massey University
Associate Professor Mānuka Hēnare University of Auckland