Explore as a

Share our content

2017 New Fellows Seminar Speakers

Royal Society Te Apārangi Fellows Book

Royal Society Te Apārangi hosted the 2017 New Fellows for seminar presentations and the signing of the Fellows Book, 14 February 2018.

Royal Society Te Apārangi would like to thank the Fellows for their outstanding seminar presentations. These seminars gave insights to some of finest research and academia in New Zealand.


Professor Gerry Gilmore from University of Cambridge | Taking the census of the Milky Way Galaxy

Professor Tony Ward from Victoria University of  Wellington | Correctional rehabilitation: beyond the Risk Paradigm

Professor Miriam Meyerhoff from Victoria University of Wellington | Working to bridge the group and the individual

Professor Jadranka Travas-Sejdic from The University of Auckland | Plastic bioelectronics: from gene sensors to stretchable electronics

Dr Nick Mortimer from GNS Science | Zealandia

Professor Michele Leggott from The University of Auckland | Emily and her sisters

Professor Mark Henaghan from University of Otago | The unheard voices in family law

Professor Charlotte Macdonald of Victoria University of Wellington | Emily's Place: why the nineteenth century might enchant and torment us

Professor Paul Trebilco from University of Otago | Issues of Identity in Judaism and Early Christianity in Asia Minor

richard mcdowell signing Custom

Richard McDowell signing the fellows book

Professor Richard McDowell from AgResearch | Water quality: why I think we can do it

Distinguished Professor Viviane Robinson from The University of Auckland | How do educational leaders make an impact on student outcomes?

Professor Mengjie Zhang from Victoria University of Wellington | Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning at VUW



Video recordings of the seminars will be published at a later date.

Read more about the 2017 Fellows.

Royal Society Te Apārangi: 15 February 2018