Explore as a

Share our content

Te Kauhuahua – advisory group on diversity

In 2018, the Society set up Te Kauhuahua as an advisory group considering equity and diversity.

Te Kauhuahua means the horizontal cross beams on the bottom of a waka – they support what’s going on up top. 

Terms of reference

  1. Te Kauhuahua will advise the President on reducing barriers to genuinely equitable processes and improving the participation of under-represented groups. The President will set specific priorities for the duration of his term.
  2. Te Kauhuahua will monitor Council’s progress on meeting its commitments in Diversity Policy.  
  3. Te Kauhuahua will advise the President for the duration of his Term of Office.
  4. Te Kauhuahua will consist of the President, up to four sector representatives reflecting the Society’s breadth of membership, and up to four current Council members. The President will chair the advisory group.
  5. Professional support will be provided by the staff lead on diversity, noting that the advisory group may request other staff participation as needs arise.
  6. Te Kauhuahua will aim to meet twice per year around September and May.
  7. The advice provided by Te Kauhuahua will remain confidential to Te Kauhuahua and the Society.


Dr Brent Clothier (Chair)

Professor Wendy Larner

Dr Dianne Sika-Paotonu

Associate Professor Cate Macinnis-Ng

Professor Joanna Kidman

Professor Shaun Hendy

Professor Wendy Lawson

Dr Steve Wakelin

Holden Hohaia