Explore as a

Share our content


Published 29 September 2023

New Councillors welcomed

From left: Haunui Royal, Erena Wikaire, Dame Jane Harding, Jenny Rogers and Susy Frankel

This week we welcomed three members into Te Whare Apārangi to serve on the Royal Society Te Apārangi Council.

Distinguished Professor Dame Jane Harding
FRSNZ was welcomed into the position of President-elect that she will hold until 1 July 2024, when she takes over from Dr Brent Clothier FRSNZ as President at the end of his 3-year term. 

Professor Susy Frankel FRSNZ, was welcomed as Deputy Chair of the Academy Executive Committee for a two-year term until 2025.

Dr Erena Wikaire MRSNZ, Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Hine, Te Kapotai, Te Hikutu, was welcomed as Councillor – Māori Electoral College for a one-year term.

The new Councillors were supported by Haunui Royal and Jenny Rogers.

Kaumātua Peter Jackson and the Pou Tiaki of Te Apārangi, Kahu Hotere, led the pōwhiri for the new Councillors. 

Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi