Explore as a

Share our content

Contact us

How you can get in touch with Royal Society Te Apārangi and follow our news.

Our phone numbers

Main phone: +64 4 472 7421

Fax: +64 4 473 1841

Our staff

View our staff list 

Our location

Our building, Te Whare Apārangi, is located on the corner of Turnbull and Murphy Streets, opposite the New World supermarket in Thorndon, Wellington.

Murphy Street is an off-ramp of the southbound motorway, accessible northbound via Molesworth Street. View map.

Information on hiring our meeting or conference facilities


Reception is on the ground floor, accessible from either the main entrance (Turnbull Street) or rear (carpark) entrance.

Office hours

Our office hours are Monday to Friday 8.30am-5.00pm.


A small number of short-duration visitor carparks (limited to 1 hour maximum) are available, including one disabled park; please use marked bays only and register your vehicle at reception on arrival. For visits exceeding 1 hour, metered street parking may be available (limited to 2 hours) on Murphy Street and there is a Wilson Parking pay & display carpark adjacent to our premises off Halswell Street.

Our courier address

Royal Society Te Apārangi, 11 Turnbull St, Thorndon, Wellington 6011

Our postal address

Royal Society Te Apārangi, PO Box 598, Wellington 6140

Our email addresses

Our email addresses are in the form firstname.lastname@royalsociety.org.nz

You can search our staff to send us an email. 

Our newsletters

You can subscribe to our newsletters.

Our videos

You can find our videos on Vimeo

Our blog

You can read our blog, Infrequently Asked Questions (IAQs) on Sciblogs

Our social media accounts

Royal Society Te Apārangi

You can follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Marsden Fund

You can also follow the Marsden Fund on Facebook and Twitter

Teaching and Learning

You can follow Heads Up for teaching and learning updates on Facebook and Twitter

Media contact

For media enquiries about Royal Society Te Apārangi, contact Nancy de Bueger 027 458 8982.

Science Media Centre

View website of the New Zealand Science Media Centre