Explore as a

Share our content


Published 1 March 2018

Rutherford Discovery Fellowships – announcing the 2018 Funding Round and Roadshows

Applications for the 2018 funding round of the Rutherford Discovery Fellowships opens on 1 March 2018.

The Rutherford Discovery Fellowships were announced by the New Zealand Government in May 2010. These prestigious Fellowships will support the recipients for a five-year term and provide funding up to $160,000 a year (excl. GST). With this scheme, the New Zealand Government is supporting the development of future research leaders, and assisting with the retention and repatriation of New Zealand’s talented early- to mid-career researchers.

  •  Early- to mid-career researchers are researchers who have been conferred with their doctoral degree between three to eight years before the year in which the Fellowship is awarded. For the 2018 funding round the eligibility time frame is 1 January 2010 – 31 December 2015.                                                
  •  Applicants must be either New Zealand citizens or applicants who have continuously resided in New Zealand for at least three months before their application and hold, or are deemed to hold, a New Zealand resident visa.                                                                                                                        
  • A web-based Proposals On-Line system will be used. Prospective applicants must first contact their research office coordinator to obtain login details for the web-based proposals portal.

Applications close on 12 April 2018.  For further information visit our Rutherford Discovery Fellowships page.


The Society are holding a series of Roadshows around the opening of the funding round, which will outline the application process and provide an opportunity for applicants to ask questions.

The first Roadshow will take place on 22 February at Massey University, Palmerston North.
For a list of the scheduled Roadshow dates and venues, please visit the Rutherford Fellowship Roadshow events page. 

Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi