Explore as a

Share our content


Published 8 February 2018

Science Teaching Leadership Programme induction symposium off to a positive start

The latest teachers starting the Science Teaching Leadership Programme

A new group of participant teachers, school representatives and host organisations are gathering at Royal Society Te Apārangi this week to begin working together to explore their respective roles within the kaupapa of the programme.

Previous participant teachers will remember the feelings they experienced when starting phase one of the STLP – working in a completely new environment surrounded by all new faces; the thrill and excitement, but also the nerves and the challenge in temporarily leaving their schools. It is the same for the latest teachers who have just embarked on the programme for their schools – after securing hosts for each of them they are now in the swing of things and have officially began the STLP journey to become confident and capable science leaders. 

The STLP programme is run in two phases. During phase one, participant teachers take leave from their schools to work with science researchers at host organisations, develop their science curriculum knowledge and undertake extensive leadership training. In phase two, participant teachers return to school to lead eighteen months of intensive science development within their school and community. 

The participant teachers starting the programme this week with their schools and their host science organisations are:  

  • Bridget Bear, Cockle Bay School - Landcare Research
  • Roger Colquhoun, Selwyn Ridge School - University of Waikato
  • Christopher Dixon, Maungatapu School - University of Waikato
  • Helen Armstrong, East Tamaki School - University of Auckland
  • Sophia Douglas, Terrace End School - Massey University
  • Karyn Gordon, Freyberg High School - Massey University
  • Joan Makisi, Avalon Intermediate - Zealandia
  • Sheree McNaught, Arataki School - Ballance Agri-Nutrients Ltd 
  • Sarah Moore, Hikurangi School - Northland Regional Council
  • Aashif Sacha, South Wellington Intermediate - NIWA
  • Kerri Satherley, Russell Street School  - Landcare Research
  • Mandy Veza, Roslyn School  - Massey University
  • Meredith Wilson, Ruapehu College - Ngati Rangi Trust 
  • Nick Wilson, Ross Intermediate  - Massey University
  • Fiona Waugh, Opunake School - Wild for Taranaki

More information on each participant teacher will be on our website in the next few weeks, but in the meantime you can browse some of the profiles of teachers who are already taking part in the STLP programme.

If you belong to a science organisation and would like to become involved as a host in the STLP contact Jenn Corbitt or Janine Bidmead

Apply for STLP

Applications are open for the next round of the Science Teaching Leadership Programme (STLP) to start term 3 2018, term 1 2019 or term 3 2019 (the latter date is subject to government funding). Applications are open until Thursday 22 March. Visit the STLP webpage to learn more.

Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi