Explore as a

Share our content

Recipients January 2019

Catalyst: Seeding

Funding round overview


Number of received proposals

Number of funded proposals




Recipients Catalyst: Seeding General

NZ PI Institution Project Title Funding (GST Excl) Months Collaboration Partners Collaborator Institutions Collaborator Countries
Professor James Crampton GNS Science Automated computer data aggregation techniques in New Zealand Earth sciences $51,000 24 Professor Shanan Peters University of Wisconsin-Madison USA
Dr Joanna James The University of Auckland Breaching the gap: In silico technologies to predict how animal drug trials will translate to human pregnancy $75,500 24 Dr Barry Doyle University of Western Australia AUSTRALIA
Professor Jillian Cornish The University of Auckland Investigation of the use of lactoferrin to breakdown biofilms  in orthopaedic surgery $80,000 24 Dr Dustin Williams University of Utah School of Medicine USA
Professor John Windsor The University of Auckland The clinical translation of the gut lymph concept in acute disease. $80,000 24 Professor Christopher Porter, Professor Maxim Itkin, Professor Wei Huang Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, West China Hospital AUSTRALIA, USA, CHINA
Professor Geoffrey Rodgers University of Canterbury Novel Low-Damage Seismic Design Methods and Energy Dissipation for High-Rise Construction $70,000 24 Professor Tony Yang, Professor Ying Zhou University of British Columbia, Tongji University CANADA, CHINA
Professor David Prior University of Otago ICECOLDSCANZ: ice core Laue diffraction scanner for Australia and New Zealand $79,650 24 Professor Matthew Barnett, Dr Ruzica Dadic, Dr Adam Treverrow Deakin University, Victoria University of Wellington, University of Tasmania


Dr James Storey Victoria University of Wellington Superspin – using polarised spins and spin correlations to probe the enigmatic electronic phase behaviour of high-temperature superconductors $80,000 24 Dr Ben Mallett, Professor John Cooper, Professor Christian Bernhard, Professor J. Paul Attfield, Dr Gennady Logvenov University of Auckland, University of Cambridge, University of Fribourg, University of Edinburgh, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research