Explore as a

Share our content


Published 16 November 2017

2017 Hector Medal presentation to Professor Sally Brooker

Professor Sally Brooker being presented the Hector Medal by Professor Harlene Hayne, University of Otago Vice-Chancellor

Sally Brooker MNZM FRSC FRSNZ, Professor of Chemistry at the University of Otago, was awarded the 2017 Hector Medal this week.

As Professor Brooker was unable to attend this year's New Zealand Research Honours, Professor Richard Blaikie FRSNZ,  Royal Society Te Apārangi Vice-President, organised a small ceremony at the University of Otago where she was presented the award by Vice-Chancellor Professor Harlene Hayne FRSNZ.


Hector Medal presentation for Professor Sally Brooker

Left to right: Professor Harlene Hayne, Professor Sally Brooker, Professor Helen Nicholson and Professor Richard Blaikie.


The Hector Medal is awarded annually for outstanding work in chemical, physical or mathematical and information sciences by a researcher in New Zealand.

Professor Brooker received the award as a result of her significant research into chemical complexes that have special properties such as acting like a switch or magnet. 

On receiving the medal, Professor Brooker said: “It’s fantastic to have the research my talented team has generated over recent years recognised like this!”


Professor Sally Brooker with most of her research team

Left to right: Ray, Santi, Fabrice, Fola, Humphrey, Sally, Ross, Sandhya, Stuart and Abdullah. Absent: Hannah and Michael.

Read more about Professor Sally Brooker being awarded the 2017 Hector Medal

Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi

Dame Lowell Goddard

Fairness is not about making everybody the same, but a just society must provide a fair opportunity for all of its members to live with basic dignity and to be able to realise their fundamental rights.