Explore as a

Share our content

Frontiers Planet Prize in Aotearoa New Zealand

Royal Society Te Apārangi is the National Representative Body for the Frontiers Planet Prize in Aotearoa New Zealand. Each year, we will select three national winners to put forward to the international Frontiers Prize jury.

We have partnered with the Frontiers Research Foundation, based in Switzerland, as part of an international effort to accelerate scientific solutions to planetary challenges. In 2022, the Foundation established the Frontiers Planet Prize, with the ambition of mobilising scientists to address the ongoing global environmental crisis.

The Society has agreed to be the National Representative Body for the Frontiers Planet Prize in Aotearoa New Zealand. Our Academy of Fellows will select up to three scientists from those nominated by research institutions that have registered as National Nominating Bodies.

We believe that this is a valuable opportunity for your researchers, and we encourage you to participate by registering your institution as a National Nominating Body (via info@frontiersplanetprize.org). You may then nominate up to three scientists from your institution to compete to be one of the three from New Zealand who will be considered by the international Frontiers Prize jury.

Each nominated scientist must have published an article that has the potential to reduce or reverse the current imbalances in human interactions with planetary systems such as climate, fresh water, and oceans.

The prize is based on the nine planetary boundaries detailed by Professor Johan Rockström and described in the book Breaking Boundaries

Scientists from all disciplines are eligible, as long as their articles were accepted for publication in a peer-reviewed journal in the two years prior to 31 October of the current year. Their research must also have the potential to generate breakthroughs that could be scaled up as solutions to global environmental challenges. 

An international Frontiers Prize jury will select one National Champion from each country, who will gain the opportunity to present and discuss their research on the international stage, and to engage in transdisciplinary collaboration with other leaders in this field.

The jury will then select three International Champions, who will each receive 1 million Swiss francs to support their continuing research, as well as worldwide exposure for their research. The international jury includes one academic from New Zealand: Professor Bronwyn Hayward FRSNZ from the University of Canterbury.

Current status

Nominations for 2023 are closed.

If you have any additional questions, please contact Marc Rands academy@royalsociety.org.nz