Explore as a

Share our content

About the Award

About the Hamilton Award

This prize was established in memory of Augustus Hamilton, President of the New Zealand Institute 1909 – 1910, and was awarded for the first time in 1923. The Royal Society of New Zealand is the successor to the New Zealand Institute.

From 2017, this prize will be known as the Hamilton Award (Royal Society Te Apārangi Early Career Research Excellence Award for Science).