Explore as a

Share our content

Our Branches

View our ten Branches. They are strong active societies, with their own local programmes of lectures, meetings and events.

Our Branches are distinct, separate regional organisations with close links with the Society, rather than “local branches” as such. Some Branch events are held in association with Royal Society Te Apārangi.

As part of our 150th Anniversary in 2017, learn about the history of our branches.

List of Branches

Auckland Museum Institute

Address: Auckland Museum Institute, Private Bag 92018, AUCKLAND 1142

President: John McIntyre jande.mcintyre@gmail.com

Contact: Dr Rosemary Barraclough  Rk.barraclough@auckland.ac.nz 

Hawkes Bay Branch of Royal Society Te Apārangi

(Hawkes Bay Branch of the Royal Society New Zealand)

President:  Emre Ertuk president@hawkesbay.rsnzbranch.org.nz

Contact:    secretary@hawkesbay.rsnzbranch.org.nz

Nelson Science Society

President: Jenny Pollock nelson.sci.soc@gmail.com

Contact: Jenny Pollock nelson.sci.soc@gmail.com 

Otago Institute for the Arts and Sciences

Address: Otago Institute for Arts and Sciences, PO Box 6373, DUNEDIN NORTH 9059

President: Anna Garden anna.garden@otago.ac.nz

Contact: SungYong Lee sungyong.lee@otago.ac.nz

Royal Society Te Apārangi Canterbury Branch

(Royal Society New Zealand Canterbury Branch)

Address: Royal Society of New Zealand Canterbury Branch, PO Box 8558, Riccarton, CHRISTCHURCH 8544

President: Roger Fagg r.fagg@xtra.co.nz 

Vice President:  Kelvin Duncan k.duncan.nz@gmail.com 

Royal Society Te Apārangi Manawatū Branch Inc.

(Royal Society New Zealand Manawatu inc.)

President: Margaret Tennant matennant@xtra.co.nz

Secretary:  Barbara Arnold bjarnold@inspire.net.nz 

Treasurer: Kate Arentsen K.Arentsen@massey.ac.nz

Royal Society Te Apārangi Rotorua Branch

(Royal Society New Zealand Rotorua Branch)

Address: Royal Society of New Zealand Rotorua Branch, SCION, Private Bag 3020, ROTORUA 3040

President: Laura Raymond laura.raymond@scionresearch.com 

Contact: Louise Sandford louise.sandford@scionresearch.com 

Royal Society Te Apārangi Wellington Branch

(Royal Society New Zealand Wellington Branch)

Address: Royal Society of New Zealand Wellington Branch, PO Box 3085, WELLINGTON 6140

President: David Lillis president.rsnz.wellington@outlook.com 

Contact: William Vandenberg Gracie secretary.rsnz.wellington@outlook.com

The Waikato Branch of Royal Society Te Apārangi

(The Waikato Branch of the Royal Society New Zealand)

President: Paul Taylor statfishtics@actrix.co.nz

Contact: Paul Taylor info@rsnzwaikato.org

Wānaka Branch of Royal Society Te Apārangi

(Wanaka Branch of the Royal Society New Zealand)

President: Amy Ballantyne  royalsocietywanaka@gmail.com

Secretary: Maggie Evans maggie.c.evans@gmail.com 

 

If you need to update your Branch contact details, please email membership@royalsociety.org.nz.