Explore as a

Share our content

Gene editing panel

Members of the gene editing expert panel and reference group.

Membership of the Gene Editing Panel

Professor Barry Scott FRSNZ (Co-Chair) - Barry Scott is Professor of Molecular Genetics in the Institute of Fundamental Sciences at Massey University.

Dr David Penman (Co-Chair) - Currently Director of David Penman and Associates providing advice to government and institutions on science directions – including membership of the RSNZ Panel on National Taxonomic Collections (2016) and member of the Peak Panel for the National Science Challenges (2013-2015).

Associate Professor Jane Allison – Jane Allison is a Rutherford Discovery Fellow and Associate Professor of Computational Biology in the School of Biological Sciences at the University of Auckland, and co-director of the Digital Life Institute.

Dr Thomas Buckley - Thomas Buckley is Research Priority Leader of invertebrate systematics at Landcare Research and Associate Professor at the Joint Graduate School for Biodiversity and Biosecurity at the University of Auckland. He is also a Programme Leader in the NZ’s Biological Heritage National Science Challenge.

Professor Peter Dearden – Peter Dearden is Associate Dean for Research in Health Sciences at the University of Otago, and Scientific Director of Genetics Otago.

Professor Alexei Drummond FRSNZ - Alexei Drummond is a Professor of Computational Biology, University of Auckland, and Director of the Centre for Computational Evolution.

Professor Gary Hawke FRSNZ - Gary Hawke is now Emeritus Professor, Victoria University of Wellington, and Senior Fellow, NZ Institute of Economic Research.

Professor Mark Henaghan FRSNZ - Mark Henaghan is Professor of Law at the University of Auckland and former Dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Otago and is a Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand. 

Irene Kereama-Royal - Irene Kereama-Royal is of Hauraki, Ngāpuhi and Tūwharetoa descent, with a legal background in Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Rights Law, and a qualified Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand.

Professor Lisa Matisoo-Smith FRSNZ - Lisa Matisoo-Smith is the Professor of Biological Anthropology in the Department of Anatomy at the University of Otago.

Associate Professor Susan Morton – Susan Morton is a Population Health Physician and Professor of Epidemiology and Population Health at the University of Auckland.  She is the Director of the cross-faculty Centre for Longitudinal Research (He Arak i Mua) and Director of the longitudinal study of NZ children and families (Growing Up in New Zealand).

Professor Richard Newcomb - Richard Newcomb is the Chief Scientist at Plant & Food Research and Professor of Evolutionary Genetics at the University of Auckland.

Professor Joanna Putterill - Joanna Putterill is the Professor in Plant Molecular Genetics at the School of Biological Sciences, University of Auckland.

Professor Stephen Robertson - Stephen Robertson is the Curekids Professor of Paediatric Genetics at Otago University in Dunedin.

Dr Phil Wilcox - Phil Wilcox is of Ngāti Rakaipaaka, Rongomaiwahine and Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairoa and Pākehā descent, and a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Otago.

Work on regulations has been supported by Julie Everett-Hincks, University of Otago.

Membership of the Reference Group

Mr Kevin Prime – Kevin Prime is of Ngāti Hine, Ngāti Whātua, Tainui and Welsh descent, and a Commissioner for the Environment Court.

Dr Jillian Tipene – Jillian Tipene is of Te Rarawa and Ngāti Kahu descent, and Research Project leader for Te Whāriki Takapou.

Mr Kiwa Hammond – Kiwa Hammond is of Ngāti Kahungunu o Te Wairoa, Ngāti Ruapani, Rongowhakaata, Moriori, English, Irish and Scottish descent, and Chair of the Wairoa District Council Māori Standing Committee.

Professor Khyla Russell – Kaitohutohu, Otago Polytechnic. Khyla Russell’s whakapapa is Kai Tahu, Kati Mamoe, Waitaha, and Rapuwai descent on te taha Māori; and Polish and Northern Irish on te taha Tauiwi.

Dr Barry Smith was invited onto the Royal Society Te Apārangi’s gene editing panel Māori reference group in June 2017, and elected to be the group’s chair by its members in September 2017. Barry passed on 26 February 2019 following a short illness. Barry Smith was of Te Rarawa and Ngāti Kahu descent, and a Population health analyst and Chair of the Research and Ethics Committee for Lakes District Health Board.