Explore as a

Share our content


Recipients of the Royal Society Te Apārangi Early Career Research Excellence Award for Humanities.

Latest recipient

The 2022 Early Career Research Excellence Award for Humanities was awarded to Anna High her socio-legal exploration of orphan relief efforts, child rights and charity regulation in Mainland China.

Previous recipients

2021 Elizabeth Jane Macpherson for her work exploring opportunities for Indigenous peoples' water rights in laws and policies around the world.
2020 Ngarino Ellis (Ngāpuhi/Ngāti Porou) for her work on Māori art history.
2018 Carwyn Jones for his ground-breaking book, New Treaty, New Tradition, which reveals new ways of using Indigenous knowledge to understand how law shapes society.
2017 Aroha Harris for her substantial contributions to the award winning Māori history, Tangata Whenua: An Illustrated History, which spans the entirety of Māori history. She was lead author of the section on sociocultural history of twentieth-century Māori.