Explore as a

Share our content


View recipients of the Royal Society Te Apārangi Te Kōpūnui Māori Research Award.

Latest Recipient

The 2023 Te Kōpūnui Māori Research Award was presented to Dr Hinekura Smith (Te Rarawa, Ngāpuhi, Te Ati Awa) for offering a way to think about the transforming changes Māori women create through deliberate and conscious actions to live ‘as Māori’. 

Previous recipients

2022 Melissa Derby (Ngāti Ranginui) for creating a culturally-responsive literacy programme aimed at strengthening bilingual preschool children’s early literacy skills in Te Reo Māori and English. 
2022 Tara McAllister (Te Aitanga ā Māhaki) for her research into the underrepresentation and undervaluing of Māori academics.
2021 Karen Brewer (Whakatōhea, Ngaiterangi) for her work on Ngā Whāriki Kōrero, a kaupapa Māori speech-language therapy resource for whānau with communication difficulties following stroke, and the speech-language therapists who work with them.
2020 Michael Stevens (Ngāi Tahu) for his work within a small group of Māori scholars who have moved out of university appointments and into iwi-centred positions in order to develop fresh perspectives on Indigenous histories.
2019 Anne-Marie Jackson for community research forging new knowledge at the interface of mātauranga Māori and Physical Sciences.
2018 Mohi Rua for innovative research on poverty, homelessness and Māori men’s health which  is redefining the field of indigenous psychology and challenging the relevance of mainstream Anglo-American psychology for Māori and other indigenous peoples.
2018 Arini Loader for pushing the boundaries of Māori Studies by incorporating history, linguistics and memory studies into her research.