Explore as a

Share our content

Cooper Award recipients

Recipients of the Cooper Award, the Royal Society Te Apārangi Early Career Research Excellence Award for Technology, Applied Science and Engineering.

Latest recipient

The 2022 Cooper Award has been presented to Hamid Abbasi for development of advanced technology for automatic identification of biological markers of hypoxic-ischemic brain injury at birth.

Previous recipients

2021 Laura Revell for her chemistry-climate interactions modelling work and pioneering research on understanding how microplastics might impact the Earth's climate.
2020 Mallory Crookenden, AgResearch, for her practical solutions to support immune function around calving to improve animal health on New Zealand dairy farms.
2019 Lee Streeter from the University of Waikato for making key advances in the theory and practice of time-of-flight range imaging.
2017 Geoff Rodgers for developing new technology for earthquake-safe buildings that do not require repairing after large earthquakes.