Explore as a

Share our content


View recipients of the Hatherton Award.

Latest recipient

The 2022 Hatherton Award was presented to Lena Collienne for identifying a biologically meaningful way to calculate distances between evolutionary histories.

Previous recipients


Gilles Seropian for his paper that provides a framework to understand how earthquakes can trigger volcanic eruptions.


Georgia Grant for developing a break-through method for determining past sea-level rise.


Christian Offen for his paper outlining his definitive study of Hamiltonian boundary value problems with widespread application to bifurcations and tipping points.


Jurij Volčič for his paper describing fundamental new tools for measuring noncommutative rational functions in the emerging mathematical field of free analysis.


Lettie Anne Roach for her paper which gives the world’s first description of a freely-evolving sea ice floe size distribution in a global ocean-sea ice model


Ryan Thomas for experimental work leading to the first direct observation that certain atomic particles follow what’s known as the Pauli exclusion principle when colliding multiple times, so long as sufficient collision energy is maintained. This work demonstrates and extends our knowledge about the fundamental properties of quantum particles


Jason Busby for his work entitled ‘The BC component of ABC toxins is an RHS-repeat-containing protein encapsulation device’, published in 2013 in the leading science journal Nature, brought spectacular new insights into a novel family of proteins that encapsulate toxins or other protein cargo. The international quality of Jason’s work is amply demonstrated by its publication in Nature, the premier journal for science – a tremendous accolade


Lujia Liu for his paper published in the highly prestigious Journal of the American Chemical Society, Volume 137,  pages 3901−3909.  This paper had a transformative impact on the field of porous materials


Russell Bisset for his paper “Fingerprinting Rotons in a Dipolar Condensate: Super-Poissonian Peak in the Atom-Number Fluctuations” by R. N. Bisset and P. B. Blakie, published in 2013 in the journal Physical Review Letters


Melissa Rotella for her paper entitled “Highly Vesicular Pumice Generated by Buoyant Detachment of Magma in Subaqueous Volcanism“, which was published in 2013 in the journal Nature Geoscience


Dmitri Schebarchov for his paper entitled “Capillary Absorption of Metal Nanodroplets by Single-Wall Carbon Nanotubes” which was published in 2008 in the journal Nano Letters


Adam Day for his paper entitled “Increasing the Gap between Descriptional Complexity and Algorithmic Probability” which was published in the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society in October 2011


Dominea Rathwell for her paper entitled “An Efficient Formal Synthesis of the Human Telomerase Inhibitor (±)-y-Rubromycin” which was published in the journal Angewandte Chemie in October 2009


Andreas Hermann for his innovative paper which demonstrated how certain physical properties of ice can be predicted with unprecedented precision from basic principles of quantum theory by using sophisticated computational techniques.


Timothy Williams


Celia Jane Webby for her paper in the Journal of Molecular Biology, on the structure and function of an enzyme from Mycobacterium tuberculosis


Catherine Margaret McCartin for her key contribution as sole author of the paper “entitled “Parameterized counting problems”


Adam Anson Norrie for his key contribution as principal author for “Quantum turbulence in condensate collisions: an application of the classical field method”


Paul Phillip Gardner for his contribution as lead author of the paper “Optimal alphabets for an RNA world” published in the Proceedings of the Royal Society London (B 2003)


Guohua Wu for his contribution as senior author to the paper “Isolation and lattice embeddings”, published in the prestigious Journal of Symbolic Logic.


Robert McCormick


Paul Robert Shorten for his paper on biomathematics. it investigated the mathematics of a hormone transport  “perifusion system”– an experimental tool used to model information transfer in endocrine systems–and shows how experimental data obtained should be understood


Roger Duncan Shand for his contribution in the paper “An intersite comparison of net offshore bar migration characteristics and environmental conditions”


Ross Andrew Edwards for an outstanding paper on crystal structure of enzymes which help organisms to break down the potentially damaging superoxide ions produced when they process oxygen to support their metabolism


Charles Alexander Semple for his paper on the significant advance in the  theory of matroids: “On maximum-sized K- regular matroids”


Craig J. Rodger