Explore as a

Share our content

Academy Centenary

On 14 and 15 February 2019, Royal Society Te Apārangi celebrated kotahi rau tau 100 years since the first Fellows were admitted into the Academy.

The first day of our two-day programme included the induction of new Fellows elected in October 2018, followed by the Fellows’ Forum and the New Fellows’ Seminar in the afternoon. In the evening there was a celebratory Centenary Dinner held at Te Papa for Fellows, Honorary Fellows and guests. Our oldest Fellow, Dr Eddie Robertson FRSNZ, who turned 100 years in January, cut the celebratory cake.


sciencelens 9108 Large

Academy Chair Professor Richard Blaikie FRSNZ, Oldest Fellow Centenarian Dr Eddie Robertson OBE CBE (elected FRSNZ in 1963) and Royal Society Te Apārangi President Professor Wendy Larner FRSNZ

An Academy Symposium addressing inclusive excellence was held on the second day and notes from the symposium are available.