Explore as a

Share our content

Our Academy

The Academy is made up of our Fellows (FRSNZ) and Honorary Fellows (Hon FRSNZ).

If referring to Fellows and Honorary Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand collectively (describing more than one Fellow/Honorary Fellow) the Te Reo wording is as follows:

‘Ngā Ahurei a Te Apārangi’ (for Fellows); or
‘Ngā Ahurei Honore a Te Apārangi’ (for Honorary Fellows).

If an individual wishes to describe his/her own Fellowship/Honorary Fellowship then he/she would use, respectively:

‘He Ahurei a Te Apārangi’ (for Fellow); or
‘He Ahurei Honore a Te Apārangi’ (for Honorary Fellow) indicating ‘one of’.

Mission of the Academy

The mission of the Academy is to honour, recognise and encourage outstanding achievement in the sciences, technologies and humanities, as well as to assist and support the activities of Royal Society Te Apārangi.

Its objectives are to:

  • recognise outstanding achievements in the sciences, technologies and humanities
  • encourage and stimulate high standards of endeavour and achievement in these fields
  • reward excellence in the broad areas of science, technology and humanities covered by the Academy
  • provide independent and non partisan advice to the Royal Society Te Apārangi Council, government policy makers and the wider community on science, technology and the humanities.