Explore as a

Share our content

Canterbury Branch

Read about the Canterbury Branch of the Royal Society Te Apārangi

Formed: 1862 (as the Philosophical Society of Canterbury)

Known founding members: Julius von Haast

The Canterbury Branch is one of the original members of the New Zealand Institute, which was to become Royal Society Te Apārangi. A speech by the Branch’s President, Julius von Haast in its founding year was sent to Charles Darwin, who replied very positively to the ‘spirited’ address from the newly established scientific institute in such a young settlement.

The Branch continues to encourage Cantabrian curiousity with its regular talks; Travel, Research and Science Fair Awards; and membership access to the University of Canterbury Library.


Read more: History of the Canterbury Branch 

Become a member: Canterbury Branch