Explore as a

Share our content


Published 24 January 2024

Research Honours Aotearoa 2024 - call for nominations

The call for nominations for medals and awards for Research Honours Aotearoa 2023 is now open. The closing date is 31 March 2024.

The Society's Academy Executive Committee is focused on increasing the diversity of nominations from under-represented groups, particularly with respect to gender, ethnicity and employment context, including from Crown Research Institutes and Independent Research organisations.

The following medals and awards are being offered in 2024 by Royal Society Te Apārangi:

  • Rutherford Medal – for exceptional research, scholarship or innovation by a person, or team, in any field of engineering, humanities, mathematics, sciences, social science, or technology
  • Te Puāwaitanga Research Excellence Award – in recognition of research that has made an eminent and distinctive contribution to Te Ao Māori, and to Māori and Indigenous knowledge

Communication, Leadership and Application

  • Callaghan Medal – for outstanding contribution to science communication, in particular raising public awareness of the value of science to human progress
  • MacDiarmid Medal – for scientific research by a person, or team, that demonstrates the potential for application to human benefit
  • Tahunui-a-Rangi – for invention or creation of unique indigenous structure, device, product, design, system, process, service or artefact(s) by a person, or team, which is significant in its economic, social, cultural or environmental impact

  • Thomson Medal – for outstanding contributions to the organisation, support and application of science and/or technology in New Zealand

Early Career Researcher Awards

Health Sciences 

  • Hercus Medal – for excellence in molecular and cellular sciences, biomedical science or clinical science and public health

Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Humanities Aronui Medal – for research or innovative work of outstanding merit in the humanities
  • Mason Durie Medal – for advances in the frontiers of social science
  • Metge Medal – for excellence in the utilisation of social science training, research experience, teaching and/or working life to facilitate and create connections and opportunities among the various stakeholders involved in social science research
  • Pou Aronui Award – for distinguished service to the humanities-aronui

Physical and Biological Sciences

  • Hector Medal – for outstanding work in chemical, mathematical, or physical sciences
  • Hutton Medal – for significantly advancing understanding in animal sciences, earth sciences or plant sciences
  • Jones Medal – for a lifetime achievement in pure or applied mathematics or statistics by a person with substantial connections to New Zealand
  • Leonard Cockayne Lecture Award – for the encouragement of botanical research in New Zealand

Technology and Applied Sciences

  • Pickering Medal – for excellence and innovation by a person, or team, in the practical applications of technology

Other Academy research funds and awards now open for application

  • Charles Fleming Senior Scientist Award – an annual research grant worth up to $10,000 to support the research of a senior scientist in New Zealand
  • Charles Fleming Publishing Award – an annual award worth up to $8,000 to support the preparation of scientific books and relevant publications
  • Hutton Fund – Funding of $1,000 for research in New Zealand zoology, botany and geology
  • Skinner Fund – Funding of $1,000 for research in the study of the history, art, culture, physical and social anthropology of Māori and Polynesian peoples

The medals and award-winners celebrated in 2023 can be seen here:

Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi