Explore as a

Share our content


View recipients of the Jones Medal.

Latest recipient

The 2018 Jones Medal was awarded to Distinguished Professor Marston Conder FRSNZ for his internationally renowned research on symmetry and chirality in discrete structures, and his exemplary leadership and service in the New Zealand mathematical sciences community.

Previous recipients


Alastair Scott FRSNZ (for a career in statistics spanning over 50 years where he contributed through path-breaking research in survey sampling and biostatistics, and through service to the wider statistical profession in academia, government, and society)


David Vere-Jones FRSNZ (to recognise his lifetime achievement in statistics, both for his novel work on forecasting earthquakes and earthquake risk and for his contribution to the teaching of statistics and mathematics in New Zealand)


Robert Goldblatt FRSNZ (for his world-leading research in modal logic and category theory, and his lifetime of dedicated service to mathematics)


John Butcher FRSNZ (for his exceptional work on numerical methods for solving differential equations and leadership in developing mathematical sciences in New Zealand)