Explore as a

Share our content


View recipients of the Charles Fleming Award for environmental achievement.

Latest recipient

The 2019 Charles Fleming Award for Environmental Achievement has been awarded to Professor David Towns from Auckland University of Technology.

In the course of his nearly 40 years working in New Zealand environmental science, David has contributed to three fields: ecology and taxonomy of freshwater mayflies; conservation of rare reptiles; and the restoration of island ecosystems. The latter in particular has led to collaborations with iwi and community groups.  

Previous recipients

2016 Bruce Clarkson for his work advancing and communicating understanding of native plant ecology and vegetation pattern and process, informing conservation efforts in terrestrial, freshwater and urban environments, and supporting effective on-the-ground restoration practice
2013 Michael Joy for his key contribution he has made to the sustainable management and protection of New Zealand’s freshwater resources
2010 Alan Mark for his work exploring and illuminating the ecology of southern ecosystems, in particular tussock grasslands, wetlands and alpine communities, through many highly influential publications. He is regarded as New Zealand’s leading environmental scientist and conservationist
2007 Mick Clout for his work including the role of birds in forest regeneration, the effective control of invasive species (including possums), and the conservation of birds themselves

Stephen Michael Dawson

Elisabeth Slooten

2001 John Lawrence Craig
1998 David A. Thom
1995 Brian P. J. Molloy
1992 Ian A. E. Atkinson
1989 Donald Merton for his outstanding efforts in the field of saving endangered species. The Royal New Zealand Forest and Bird Protection Society provided a special corporate award for launch of prize.