Explore as a

Share our content


View recipients of the Dame Joan Metge Medal.

Latest recipient

The 2020 Metge Medal for excellence and building relationships in the social science research community was awarded to Professor Steven Ratuva, University of Canterbury, for his mahi on ethnicity, racism and affirmative action, with expertise in conflict and social protection.

Previous recipients


Associate Professor Suzanne Pitama from the University of Otago for her considerable contribution to inspiring and developing new research capacity and knowledge for health professional education to address critical Indigenous health inequities in Aotearoa New Zealand.


Stuart McNaughton for his contributions to the building of research capacity in educational sciences, advancing literacy and language development, and for his evidence-based impact on educational policy both nationally and internationally


Alison Jones for the significant impact she has made on New Zealand educational research and practice, particularly on Māori-Pakeha educational relationships and women’s education at tertiary level


Linda Tuhiwai Smith for her outstanding contribution in inspiring, mentoring and developing the capacity of Māori researchers through teaching and research


Janet Holmes for her outstanding contribution to linguistics


Richard Bedford for his contribution to the development of social sciences over a long period, and has made major contributions to new knowledge in the field of migration, particularly in the Asia-Pacific region


Richie Poulton for his work as director of the University of Otago longitudinal study which is following the health and development of more than 1000 babies born in Dunedin in 1972/3 providing substantial contributions to new knowledge


Philippa Howden-Chapman, whose research has had a major impact on our understanding of the link between housing, energy and health


Diana Lennon, whose research as a paediatrician scientist has made a major impact on the lives of New Zealand children