Explore as a

Share our content

Our Constituent Organisations

Our Constituent Organisations help us identify and address issues relevant to the research, knowledge and innovation sectors, and link into the research information and activities that the Society undertakes.

Constituent Organisations are generally discipline-based, that is their members group through an interest in a particular discipline. Each Constituent Organisation is a voting member of the Society.

The list below is alphabetical by organisation.

Association for Women in the Sciences

Address: AWIS, 92 Puriri St, Fendalton, CHRISTCHURCH 8041

President: Emma Timewell awisnz.convenor@gmail.com

Contact: Kieren Arthur awis.secretary@gmail.com

Association of Social Anthropologists of Aotearoa/New Zealand

President: Brigitte Bönisch-Brednich brigitte.bonisch-brednich@vuw.ac.nz

Secretary: Nayantara Shearan Appleton nayantara.s.appleton@vuw.ac.nz 

Contact: Graeme Whimp graeme.whimp@vuw.ac.nz  

Australasian Association of Philosophy

President:  Stuart Brock ceo@aap.org.au

Secretary:  Eliza Goddard admin@aap.org.au 

Australasian Society for Immunology (NZ Branch)

Contact: Ries Langley r.langley@auckland.ac.nz 

Contact: Axel Heiser axel.heiser@agresearch.co.nz 

Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists (NZ Section)(ASCEPT)

Address: ASCEPT, PO Box 351, Hamilton Central, QLD 4007, AUSTRALIA

President: Hesham Al-Sallami hesham.al-sallami@otago.ac.nz 

Contact: Katie Roberson secretariat@ascept.org  

Geoscience Society of New Zealand

President: James Scott president@gsnz.org.nz

Contact: Nicki Sayers admin@gsnz.org.nz

Meteorological Society of New Zealand

Address: Meteorological Society of New Zealand (Inc.), PO Box 6523, Marion Square, WELLINGTON 6141

President: Michael Martens michael.martens@metservice.com 

Secretary: Katrina Richards katrinarichards007@gmail.com

New Zealand Archaeological Association

Address: New Zealand Archaeological Association Inc., PO Box 6337, DUNEDIN 9054

President: Lynda Walter president@nzarchaeology.org 

Contact: Isaac McIvor secretary@nzarchaeology.org 

New Zealand Association for Research in Education

Address: NZARE Secretariat, 12a Anaheim Place, Churton Park, Wellington, 6037

Contact: Kirsten Locke k.locke@auckland.ac.nz   

Contact: admin@nzare.eo@gmail.com 

New Zealand Association of Mathematics Teachers

Address: NZ Assn of Mathematics Teachers, PO Box 26582, Epsom, AUCKLAND 1344

President: Gillian Frankcom g.frankcom@auckland.ac.nz

Contact: Jenny Hawke-Cross admin@nzamt.org.nz

New Zealand Association of Science Educators

Address: NZ Assn of Science Educators, PO Box 37 342, Halswell, CHRISTCHURCH 8245

President: Sam York  syork@jameshargest.school.nz  

Contact: Donna Sellers nzase@xtra.co.nz

New Zealand Association of Scientists

Address: New Zealand Assn of Scientists, PO Box 1874, WELLINGTON 6140

President: Troy Baisden president@scientists.org.nz

Contact: Fiona McDonald fiona.mcdonald@otago.ac.nz

New Zealand Ecological Society

Address: New Zealand Ecological Society, Secretariat, PO Box 5008, Waikiwi

INVERCARGILL, 9843

President: Tim Curran president@newzealandecology.org

Contact: Kate McAlpine nzecosoc@outlook.com

New Zealand Freshwater Sciences Society

President: Kate McArthur kate@thecatalystgroup.co.nz

Contact: Amy Whitehead amy.whitehead@niwa.co.nz  

New Zealand Geographical Society

Address: New Zealand Geographical Society, C/- School of People, Environment and Planning, Private Bag 11222, PALMERSTON NORTH 4410

President: Warwick Murray warwick.murray@vuw.ac.nz 

Secretary:  Axel Malecki a.malecki@massey.ac.nz 

Contact: admin@nzgs.co.nz

New Zealand Geothermal Association

Address: New Zealand Geothermal Association, c/- Ringa Matau Limited, PO Box 7214, Te Ngae, ROTORUA 3042

President: Stephen Daysh president@nzgeothermal.org.nz

Contact: Rosalind Archer r.archer@auckland.ac.nz 

New Zealand Historical Association

Address: New Zealand Historical Association, C/- History, School of Humanities, University of Auckland, AUCKLAND

President: Michael Belgrave  M.P.Belgrave@massey.ac.nz 

Contact: David Littlewood  D.C.Littlewood@massey.ac.nz 

New Zealand Hydrological Society

Address: New Zealand Hydrological Society (Inc.), PO Box 12300, WELLINGTON 6140

President: Joseph Thomas joseph.thomas@tdc.govt.nz

Contact: Mike Ede mike.ede@marlborough.govt.nz

Contact: Raelene Mercer secretary@hydrologynz.org.nz

New Zealand Institute of Agricultural & Horticultural Science

Address: NZ Institute of Agricultural & Horticultural Science, PO Box 121063, Henderson, AUCKLAND

President: Jon Hickford  Jonathan.Hickford@lincoln.ac.nz

Contact: Jenny Taylor secretariat@agscience.org.nz

New Zealand Institute of Chemistry

Address: New Zealand Institute of Chemistry, P O Box 13798, Johnsonville, WELLINGTON 6440

President:  Sarah Masters nzic.office@gmail.com

Contact: nzic.office@gmail.com

New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology

Address: New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology (Inc.), PO Box 5574, Terrace End, PALMERSTON NORTH 4441

President: Richard Archer r.h.archer@massey.ac.nz 

Contact: Rosemary Hancock rosemary@nzifst.org.nz 

New Zealand Institute of Forestry

Address: New Zealand Institute of Forestry, PO Box 10 513, WELLINGTON 6143

President: James Treadwell president@nzif.org.nz

Contact: admin@nzif.org.nz

New Zealand Institute of Physics

Address: New Zealand Institute of Physics (Inc.), c/o Conferences and Events Ltd, PO Box 1254, NELSON 7040

President: Natalie Plank president@nzip.org.nz

Contact: Simon Granville secretary@nzip.org.nz

New Zealand Marine Sciences Society

President:Nick Shears n.shears@auckland.org.nz

Contact: Dana Clark secretary@nzmss.org

New Zealand Mathematical Society

President: Shaun Hendy shaun.hendy@auckland.ac.nz 

Contact: Rua Murray rua.murray@canterbury.ac.nz

New Zealand Microbiological Society

President: Mike Taylor president@nzms.org.nz

Contact: Helen Withers secretary@nzms.org.nz

New Zealand Plant Protection Society

President: Eirian Jones eirian.jones@lincoln.org.nz

Contact: Jenny Taylor secretary@nzpps.org

New Zealand Political Studies Association/Te Kahui Tatai Torangapu o Aotearoa

President: Patrick Barrett patrick.barrett@waikato.ac.nz 

Contact: Peter Skilling peter.skilling@aut.ac.nz 

New Zealand Psychological Society

Address: New Zealand Psychological Society Incorporated, PO Box 25271, WELLINGTON

President: Dr John Fitzgerald J.M.Fitzgerald1@massey.ac.nz

Contact: Veronica Pitt executivedirector@psychology.org.nz 

New Zealand Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Address: New Zealand Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (Inc), School of Biological Sciences, University of Auckland, AUCKLAND 1142

President: Monica Gerth monica.gerth@otago.ac.nz 

Secretary: Amy Osbourne amy.osbourne@otago.ac.nz 

New Zealand Society for Oncology

President: Kate Clark Kate.Clarke@ccdhb.org.nz 

Contact: Ken Dempster kgdempst@xtra.co.nz

New Zealand Society for Parasitology

President: Cathryn Christie cathryn@piopiovets.co.nz

Contact:  Ash Keown ashkeown@gmail.com 

New Zealand Society of Endocrinology

President: Ryan Paul ryan.paul@waikatodhb.health.nz

Secretary:  Kate Lee kathryn.lee@auckland.ac.nz 

New Zealand Society of Plant Biologists (NZSPB)

President: Richard MacKnight richard.macknight@otago.ac.nz

Contact: Lynette Brownfield secretary@plantbiology.science.org.nz 

New Zealand Society of Soil Science

President: Megan Balks M.Balks@waikato.ac.nz 

Contact: Diana Selbie Diana.Selbie@agresearch.co.nz 

New Zealand Statistical Association

Address: New Zealand Statistical Association (Inc.), PO Box 1731, WELLINGTON 6140

President: Vanessa Cave vanessa.cave@agresearch.co.nz 

Contact: John Haywood john.haywood@vuw.ac.nz  

Nutrition Society of New Zealand

Address: Nutrition Society of New Zealand, PO Box 2039, Gonville, WANGANUI 4543

President: Pamela Von Hurst president@nutritionsociety.ac.nz 

Contact: Sarah Eady info@nutritionsociety.ac.nz 

Philosophy of Education Society of Australasia

President:  Liz Jackson president@pesa.org.au

Secretary:  Christoph Eschers secretary@pesa.org.au

Physiological Society of New Zealand

President: Paul Donaldson p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz

Contact: Rajesh Katare rajesh.katare@otago.ac.nz 

Population Association of New Zealand

Address: Population Association of New Zealand (Inc.), PO Box 225, WELLINGTON 6140

President: Rosemary Goodyear rosemary.goodyear@stats.govt.nz

Contact: Shefali Pawar secretary@population.org.nz

Royal Astronomical Society of New Zealand

Address: Royal Astronomical Society of New Zealand, PO Box 3181, WELLINGTON 6140

President: Nicholas Rattenbury n.rattenbury@auckland.ac.nz

Contact: John Drummond president@rasnz.org.nz

Sociological Association of Aotearoa NZ SAANZ

President: Avril Bell  a.bell@auckland.ac.nz 

Contact: Carol Harrington carol.harrington@vuw.ac.nz