Explore as a

Share our content


Published 9 January 2019

2019 Medals and Awards

The call for nominations for the 2019 medals and awards round is now open.

The following medals and awards are being offered in 2019 by Royal Society Te Apārangi.

Please note: The Academy Executive Committee is focused on increasing the diversity of nominations from under-represented groups, particularly with respect to gender, ethnicity and employment context.

Early Career Researcher Awards


  • Callaghan Medal – for outstanding contribution to science communication, in particular raising public awareness of the value of science to human progress

 Physical Sciences

  • Hector Medal – for outstanding work in chemical, mathematical, or physical sciences

Leadership and co-created research

  • Thomson Medal – for outstanding contributions to the organisation, support and application of science and/or technology in New Zealand
  • Te Rangaunua Hiranga Māori Award – recognises excellent, innovative co-created research, conducted by Māori, that has made a distinctive contribution to community wellbeing and development in Aotearoa

Biological and Medical Sciences

Humanities and Social Sciences

Technology and Applied Sciences

  • MacDiarmid Medal – for outstanding scientific research that demonstrates the potential for application to human benefit
  • Pickering Medal – to recognise excellence and innovation in the practical applications of technology
  • Scott Medal – for engineering science and technology work of great merit by a researcher in New Zealand

Our finest honour

  • Rutherford Medal – for exceptional contributions to New Zealand society and culture through activities in the broad fields of science, mathematics, social science, and technology


Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi