Explore as a

Share our content


Published 1 February 2023

Research Honours Aoteaora 2023 - call for nominations

The call for nominations for medals and awards for Research Honours Aotearoa 2023 is now open. The closing date is 31 March 2023.

Please note
that the Academy Executive Committee is focused on increasing the diversity of nominations from under-represented groups, particularly with respect to gender, ethnicity and employment context, from Crown Research Institutes and independent research organisations.

The following medals and awards are being offered in 2023 by Royal Society Te Apārangi:

  • Rutherford Medal – for exceptional research, scholarship or innovation by a person, or team, in any field of engineering, humanities, mathematics, sciences, social science, or technology
  • Te Rangaunua Hiranga Māori Award – for excellent, innovative co-created research, conducted by Māori, that has made a distinctive contribution to community wellbeing and development in Aotearoa

Communication, Leadership and Application

  • Callaghan Medal – for outstanding contribution to science communication, in particular raising public awareness of the value of science to human progress
  • MacDiarmid Medal – for scientific research by a person, or team, that demonstrates the potential for application to human benefit
  • Thomson Medal – for outstanding contributions to the organisation, support and application of science and/or technology in New Zealand

Early Career Researcher Awards

Humanities and Social Sciences

Physical and Biological Sciences

  • Hector Medal – for outstanding work in chemical, mathematical, or physical sciences
  • Hutton Medal – for significantly advancing understanding in animal sciences, earth sciences or plant sciences

Technology and Applied Sciences

  • Pickering Medal – for excellence and innovation by a person, or team, in the practical applications of technology
  • Scott Medal– for engineering science and technology work of great merit by a researcher in New Zealand

Other Academy research funds and awards now open for application

  • Charles Fleming Senior Scientist Award – an annual research grant worth up to $10,000 to support the research of a senior scientist in New Zealand.
  • Charles Fleming Publishing Award an annual award worth up to $8,000 to support the preparation of scientific books and relevant publications.
  • Hutton Fund – Funding of $1,000 for research in New Zealand zoology, botany and geology.
  • Skinner Fund – Funding of $1,000 for research in the study of the history, art, culture, physical and social anthropology of Māori and Polynesian peoples.

The medal and award winners celebrated in 2022 can be seen here:

Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi