Explore as a

Share our content


Published 21 January 2021

2021 Medals and Awards

The call for nominations for medals and awards for the 2021 round is now open.

The following medals and awards are being offered in 2021 by Royal Society Te Apārangi. The closing date is 31 March 2021.

Please note that the Academy Executive Committee is focused on increasing the diversity of nominations from under-represented groups, particularly with respect to gender, ethnicity and employment context, from Crown Research Institutes and Independent Research organisations.

  • Rutherford Medal – for  exceptional research, scholarship or innovation by a person, or team, in any field of engineering, humanities, mathematics, sciences, social science, or technology
  • Te Rangaunua Hiranga Māori Award – for excellent, innovative co-created research, conducted by Māori, that has made a distinctive contribution to community wellbeing and development in Aotearoa

Communication, Leadership and Application

  • Callaghan Medal – for outstanding contribution to science communication, in particular raising public awareness of the value of science to human progress
  • Thomson Medal – for outstanding contributions to the organisation, support and application of science and/or technology in New Zealand
  • MacDiarmid Medal – for scientific research that demonstrates the potential for application to human benefit

Early Career Researcher Awards

Humanities and Social Sciences

Physical and Biological Sciences

  • Hector Medal – for outstanding work in chemical, mathematical, or physical sciences
  • Hutton Medal – for significantly advancing understanding in animal sciences, earth sciences or plant sciences

Technology and Applied sciences

  • Pickering Medal – for excellence and innovation in the practical applications of technology
  • Scott Medal – for engineering science and technology work of great merit by a researcher in New Zealand

Research funds and opportunities

  • Charles Fleming Senior Scientist Award – an annual research grant worth up to $10,000 to support the research of a senior scientist in New Zealand.
  • Charles Fleming Publishing Award – an annual award worth up to $8,000 to support the preparation of scientific books and relevant publications.
  • Hutton Fund – Funding of $1,000 for research in New Zealand zoology, botany and geology.
  • Skinner Fund – Funding of $1,000 for research in the study of the history, art, culture, physical and social anthropology of Māori and Polynesian peoples.

Please email academy@royalsociety.org.nz for further details.

Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi